Facebook: A Way to Stay Connected

As Facebook gets older, more and more millennials have come forward stating that “Facebook is dead”. I hear that all the time. Most of my friends explain to me that they barely use Facebook anymore. However, I don’t see any of them deactivating their accounts, and when I look at their pages it seems as if they’re uploading the same amount of pictures that they did our freshman year of college (back in 2011). Sure, it may not be the only form of social media that people are using now, but it most definitely is not dead. This chart from an article in Adweek shows that in 2014 Facebook had 2.84 billion ACTIVE users, meaning that they’re STILL using the social media site. Compared to the 255 million Twitter and 200 million Instagram users, it is clear to see that there is no evidence that proves that Facebook is dying.

Another argument against Facebook is that it lowers self-esteem and causes users to become jealous of other user’s lives. This article from Psychology Today lists the many harmful things that Facebook can do to your mental health. However, what it fails to mention is that this type of behavior can stem from ANY form of social media. This same list can apply to Instagram, Twitter, Snapchat, Vine, and any other app that is newer than Facebook. These problems are effects of the technological world we live in today, and being on or off Facebook will not solve these issues that are forming as a result of the internet.

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.59.43 PM
the only thing my grandpa uses Facebook for is poker, but he still uses it nevertheless!

Although I stand by my argument that Facebook is still thriving, it’s hard to ignore statistical facts. Based on this chart from TIME, it is clear that in the past 4 years, younger audiences have been leaving Facebook. However, the total U.S growth is at 22%! There is an 80% growth of users who are 55 and older. This doesn’t mean that Facebook is dead, it means that the site is merely shifting its target audience. What started out as a site for college students is slowly evolving into a way for older users to reconnect with family and friends.

Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.55.37 PM
A picture my Aunt uploaded of my Uncle and Grandpa from the 90’s
Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.55.15 PM
A chat with all my relatives from my dad, who was keeping us up to date on my uncle. Fortunately it was good news!
Screen Shot 2015-04-08 at 1.56.36 PM
A picture my dad uploaded of me and my siblings when they visited Michigan. Almost 60 likes!

I think one of the best features of Facebook is how it keeps people connected. The main example I have to prove this point is my dad’s Facebook. He’s constantly sharing pictures that I upload, and uploading things of his own from all of our family vacations. Every time I’m tagged in one of his pictures, he gets more likes that I ever would. Most of the likes and comments are from his old friends and most of my family members that haven’t seen me or any of my siblings since we were little. It’s these pictures that help them stay connected to us, and that helps my dad see how much all of his family and friends are growing and changing.

Technology isn’t always a burden, and with all of the negativity that has evolved with the internet over time, it’s hard to remember that the main reason social media exists is to bring people together and share memories. Younger audiences may be straying away from this particular social media platform, but to say that Facebook is dead would be unjustified given the evidence of the growth that the social media site has faced.